



2023 GOPHER CONFERENCE WRESTLING

FOR RELEASE

The Gopher Conference is proud to announce the 2022 Boys Wrestling award winners. Team Standings:

i cam stanungs.	
Kenyon-W	6-0
Medford	5-1
Maple River/USC	3-3
Westfield	3-3
WEM/JWP	3-3
NRHEG	1-5
Triton	0-6

Conference Champion: Kenyon Wanamingo

Kenyon Wanamingo finished the 2022 season with a conference record of 6-0. 2022-23 marked the first time the K-W wrestling team won the Gopher Conference. Overall Kenyon Wanamingo had a dual record of 26-5, made it to the semi finals in section one and lost against the number two seeded Chatfield, and sent 4 individuals to the class A state tournament. KW's state tournament qualifiers were Ryan LaCanne, Jaedin Johnson (4th place), Gavin Johnson (3rd place), and Will VanEpps (5th place). Kenyon Wanamingo's head coach Nathan Lexvold was assisted by Josh Jacobson, Matt Lexvold, Chad Lexvold, and Wayne Lexvold. The team featured Gopher All Conference Jaedin Johnson, Gavin Johnson, Dillon Bartel, and Reed Sommer. All conference honorable mention Will Van Epps, Trent Foss, and Tate Miller. Gopher conference sportsmanship award Bryan Jacobson.

2023 Gopher Conference Wrestler of the Year: Charlie Elwood-Medord

Name	Grade	School	WT	
Charlie Elwood	12	Medofrd	145	
Charley Elwood finished with a 21-2 record for the season and a 134-9 record for his career. Charley was				
a five time state entrant, winning three state championships and finishing runner-up once. He graduates				
as perhaps the most decorated wrestler in Medford history.				

All-Conference

Name	Grade	School
Jaedin Johnson	12	KW
Gavin Johnson	11	KW
Dillon Bartel	11	KW
Reed Sommer	10	KW
Tate Hermes	12	Medford
Garron Hoffman	12	Medford
Jack Meyer	12	Medford
Tommy Elwood	10	Medford
Cooper Ochsendorf	12	Maple River/USC
Makota Misgen	12	NRHEG
Owen Garness	12	Triton
Keegan Kuball	10	WEM/JWP
Brady Murphy	9	WEM/JWP
Carson Petry	10	WEM/JWP
Bo Zwiener	10	Westfield





2022 GOPHER CONFERENCE WRESTLING

Honorable Mention

Name	Grade	School
Will VanEpps	11	KW
Tate Miller	12	KW
Trent Foss	11	KW
Dylan Heiderscheidt	12	Medford
Luis Lopez	11	Medford
Evan Schweisthal	11	Medford
Avery Fall	10	WEM/JWP
Cade Christianson	12	Westfield

Sportsmanship Recipients

Name	Grade	School
Bryan Jacobson	??	KW
Garrett Bollmann	11	Maple River/USC
Dylan Heiderscheidt	12	Medford
Aden Berg	12	NRHEG
Liam Schlichting	12	Triton
Jack Cahill	12	WEM/JWP
Cade Christianson	12	Westfield

Sportsmanship winners were a member of the varsity roster during the season or at the end of the regular season, they did not have to be on postseason roster. They are someone who exemplified good sportsmanship qualities.

CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL AWARD WINNERS!!!!